STOCKPORT County will be hoping to arrest their current poor form against Evo-Stik Premier Division leaders Nantwich Town when kicking off their FA Trophy campaign on Saturday (KO 15:00 GMT).

The Dabbers will travel to Edgeley Park for the third qualifying round of the competition at the weekend after a 5-1 victory over Kings Lynn and 2-1 win over Salford City at the Weaver Stadium in the previous two rounds.

The Hatters, meanwhile, have not won in five games after Tuesday night’s 4-2 home defeat by Solihull Moors and boss Neil Young knows his team will have to improve against an in-form Nantwich side.

Young admitted he would have preferred facing anyone else in the third qualifying round, with the Cheshire outfit having only lost one of their last 12 league games and scoring goals for fun.

The Hatters have signed striker Jonny Margetts on loan from Tranmere Rovers this week, who has a reputation for scoring goals with 14 in just 26 appearances.

Since Jonny played against the Hatters whilst he was on loan at Gainsbrough, Young has had his eye on him.

He said: “We are very happy to bring Jonny to the club. We have been asking about him for some time, he was identified as one of our main targets to improve our goal threat.”

Young has also recruited goalkeeper Andreas Arestidou on loan from Fleetwood Town after no.1 Danny Hurst was ruled out for the rest of the season and 19-year-old Kieran O’Hara endured a shaky debut against Solihull.

County have found it challenging over the years, since their highest position in the league has been 10th since 2009, and they currently sit eighth in the National League North.

The Hatters have won only two of their last nine home games and last tasted victory a month ago when defeating Bradford Park Avenue 2-0.

Meanwhile, Nantwich suffered their first defeat in nine outings in all competitions last weekend when losing 4-2 to fellow promotion contenders Ashton United at Hurst Cross

The last match that took place between the Hatters and the Dabbers was a friendly fixture ahead of the 2013/14 season, which Nantwich won 1-0.

Provisional Squads:

Stockport County: Arestidou (GK), Ormson (GK), Ellison, Tonge, Thorniley, Duxbury, O’Hanlon (c), Morton, Roberts, Ledsham, Robinson, Rule, Churchman, Evans, Montrose, Garvin, Colley, Odejayi, Gonzales, Margetts, Bell-Baggie.

Nantwich Town: Burzynski (GK), Thornton, Moran, Migthen, Mannion, Hartley, Bourne, Veiga, Hancock, Speed, Hall, Gordon, Bell, Booth, Shotton, Smith.

Referee: Shaun Hudson (Tyne & Wear)

By Melika Gabidon

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *