SATURDAY night saw the return of the finale of the Revolution Series at the National Cycling Centre in Manchester. Rachel Foy was there for us…

The event was one of the last times the world’s riders will cycle against each other before 2016 Olympics in Rio. And boy did they put on a show!Laura Trott at Revolution Series Cycling

With a special appearance from Sir Chris Hoy, the afternoon and evening of racing was sure to put a smile on the faces of the audience. Especially when Britain’s golden girl, Laura Trott, won her first race since competing with Team GB in Hong Kong.  She lapped the field of riders three times and won the Points Race with a huge margin of 48 points.

The Point Race starts with a full field of riders who sprint every 10 laps. The first four riders to cross the line gain five, four, three, two or one points.  Each time Trott lapped the field she gained 20 points, therefore gaining the most points and winning the race.

The overall winners were Owain Doull and Jon Dibben, from Team Wiggins. They won every men’s race of the Elite Championship, beating their closest rivals Andy Tennant and Chris Latham from Team PedalSure.  Race Director Jarl Walsh, past Olympic champion Sir Chris Hoy and previous winners of the HOY Future Stars competition, presented Doull and Dibben with flowers after a full day of racing.

Owain Doull and Jon Dibben at Revoltion CyclingThe younger members of the crowd were treated to special race from the CBBC Presenters: Barney Harwood and Radzi Chinyanganya. Barney won the first race, the sprint over three laps; however Radzi won the Omnium race by quite a margin, despite Barney’s hardworking efforts.

The HOY Future Star competition offered just as much action and drama as the Elite Championship, and provides invaluable experience for some of Britain’s most promising talent.

Chris Hoy at Revolution CyclingThe 15 to 16-year-olds compete in three races in each round, including the scratch race, elimination race or the six-lap-dash. Points are awarded in each race based on the position of the rider. For example, the winner gets 30 points; second place 25 points; third place 23 and so on. The rider with the most points at the end of the season will be crowned 2015-16 HOY future stars champion.

The winners of the competition were Lewis Stewart, from team Scotland, and Jessica Roberts, from Team USN. The two have been the most consistent riders throughout the season of racing and Roberts also made sure that she led team USN to win the overall best team.

By: Rachel Foy

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *