Local authority elections are around the corner and it’s time for a straightforward round-up of what is going on, including deadlines, where to vote and more.

The election is being held on Thursday the 5th of May to decide what councillors will represent the different areas of Salford.

If you are over 16 and a British citizen you’re eligible to cast your vote. However, If you’re not already, you will need to register to vote.

To vote in this election you needed to have been registered by 11:59 pm on 14 April. However, votes occur often so even if you have missed this deadline it’s still worth regiserting. This takes no longer than 5 minutes and can be done here.

Local elections are often seen as a popularity test in the current government – with this one being Boris Johnson’s second election battle. The outcome, while not influencing his power in parliament, will determine how much faith the British population has in the Prime Minister’s abilities. The topics of ‘partygate’, Ukraine and the rising cost of living crisis will all be major talking points in the upcoming weeks leading up to the election.

Local elections often have very low turnouts but can be very impactful to the national political climate. 2019 saw the conservative government take huge losses in protest of Theresa May’s Brexit deal. This election result became a final nail in the coffin for her career as PM, paving the way for the current leader – Boris Johnson. Kier Starmer’s Labour Party has seen little electoral success since he became party leader in January 2020, so he will be looking to capitalise on the remaining party-gate momentum.

How to vote:

If you are unavailable or cannot make it to a polling station on the 5th of May, postal voting is available. However, this deadline ended on April 19th.

You can register to postal vote here or email elections@salford.gov.uk / call 0161 793 2500 with your name and full address, including your postcode. If you forget to send your postal vote back in time, you can hand-deliver it to any polling station in and it will count as a normal vote.

You can also apply for a proxy vote here. This is where someone you trust votes on your behalf if you’re unavailable. The deadline to vote by proxy is 5pm TODAY, so if you plan to vote by proxy, make sure it’s done by today.

When voting, it’s important to be informed. Study what parties your local candidates represent and see what values they hold. If they’ve already been elected you should check their voting history to make sure their voting record represents your political values. We also recommend following their Twitter accounts to see live updates about their campaign in the run-up to the election.

Last year’s Blackfriars and Trinity Ward by-election results saw Labour’s Roseanna Wain win by 400 votes, more than double greens second place. However, only 10% of the ward’s eligible voters turned out. It’s likely voter turnout in May will be closer to the 25% average of the 2019 local election. Despite this, local elections traditionally have very low turnouts so every vote could have a major impact on the results.

You can find out where your voting ward is here so you’re ready to vote in May. Your polling card will have more information on where your polling station is located. This is posted to your house closer to the election.

Find out who is up for election in your ward (alphabetical):

Barton and Winton Ward – 

Antony Ian Duke (Lib Dem)

John Mullen (Lab)

Michael Richman (Con)


Blackfriars and Trinity Ward – 

Joe Allen (Lib Dem)

David Jones (Green)

Roseanna Wain (Lab)


Boothstown and Ellenbrook Ward – 

Mohammed Bashir (Lab)

Diana Joy Battersby (Green)

Ian Leslie Chisnall (Lib Dem)

Les Turner (Con)


Broughton Ward – 

Patience Assam (Con)

David Joseph Henry (Green)

Eli Leech (IND)

John David Merry (Lab)

Alexander Thomas William Wynne (Lib Dem)


Cadishead and Lower Irlam Ward – 

Yolande Amana Ghola (Lab)

Jamie Louis Clark (Lib Dem)

Amar Farooq (Con)

Claremont Ward – 

Mary Ferrer (IND)

Bernard Darrell Goldfine (Con)

Gizella Katalin Hughes (Lib Dem)

Neil Andrew Reynolds (Lab)

Christopher Frederick Seed (Green)

Eccles Ward – 

Chris Bates (Con)

Oliver William Bradfield (Lib Dem)

Sally Griffiths (Trade Union and Socialist Coailtion)

Clive Peter Hamilton (Green)

Nathaniel Djangmah Tetteh (Lab)


Higher Irlam and Peel Green Ward – 

Saqib Aftab (Con)

Mishal Saeed (Lab)

Kenneth William Thompson (Lib Dem)

Kersal and Broughton Park Ward – 

Adam Robert Carney (Con)

Chioma Mgbeokwere (Lab)

James Anthony Twells (Lib Dem)

Avrohom Yitschok Walter (IND)


Little Hulton Ward – 

Dorothy Chapman (Con)

Stuart Michael Oxbrow (Green)

Teresa Pepper (Lab)

Stuart Michael Robbins (Lib Dem)


Ordsall Ward – 

Nicola Smith (Green)

Chris Twells (Lib Dem)

John David Walsh (Lab)


Pendlebury and Clifton Ward – 

Sophia Linden (Lab)

Ian Alexander McKinlay (Lib Dem)

Jackie Mountaine (Con)


Pendleton and Charlestown Ward – 

Miranda Friedman (Con)

Nadin Andrew (Green)

Sam Wade (Lib Dem)

John David Warmisham (Lab)


Quays Ward

Lucy Elizabeth Staniforth (Green)

Phil Tresadern (Lab)

Alex Warren (Lib Dem)


Swinton and Wardley Ward – 

Alima Husain (Con)

Gina Claire Reynolds (Lab)

Mark Sampson (IND)

Liam James Cantona Waite (Green)

Gareth Joseph Watkins (Lib Dem)


Swinton Park Ward – 

Howard Saul Balkind (Green)

Stuart James Dickman (Lab)

John Howard McLellan (Lib Dem)

Derek Barry Meades (Con)

Joe O’Neill (IND)


Walkden North Ward – 

Frederick Roy Battersby (Green)

John Brian Frederick Grant (Lib Dem)

Adrees Masood (Con)

Ashlea Simon (Britain First)

Jack Leslie Youd (Lab)


Walkden South Ward – 

Thomas Matthew Dylan (Green)

Azmat Husain (Con)

Patricia Ann Murphy (Lib Dem)

Irfan Syed (Lab)


Weaste and Seedley Ward – 

Paul Darren Heilbron – (Lib Dem)

Donna-Maree Louise Humphery (Womens Equality Party)

Alexis Murura Shama (Lab)


Worsley and Westwood Park Ward – 

James Karl Blessing (Lib Dem)

Tony Davies (Lab)

Adam Kealey (Con)

For more information click here.


  1. Stuart A Priestley

    It’s a tough decision this time as above states The Conservatives have had the pandemic, Ukraine, party gate etc., but then you have the local Labour Council leaders in Greater Manchester waiting in the wings with their “revised” CAZ.
    No Labour Councillor will give you an answer on their stance regarding the CAZ except to tell the lies that the government gave them a legal directive.
    They only did that because the Mayor, Andy Burnham, asked for Manchester to be given the right to do a CAZ. Then the GM Labour leaders decided they would sit on the directive then go back to government with their plan of the largest CAZ in Europe and that it would be charging.

    GM Labour leaders and Mayor’s of GM and Salford will bring in their charging CAZ if they get voted in again. Don’t believe what they say.

    • FrancisBarker

      CAZ will be a topical talking point, although I wonder if people attribute that to a Mayoral issue, with no Mayoral elections people in May it could be side-lined… We’ll see.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *