The star-studded BBC Sports Personality of the Year will be hosted in Salford for the first time in nine years.

The awards have survived the Covid-19 pandemic to showcase the most inspirational and successful sports men and women across the UK, those who captured the public imagination with an incredible year of triumph in one form or another.

This year the awards will be held at the Dock10 studios in Media City where there is space to stage them safely.

Wythenshawe heavyweight boxing champion Tyson Fury, who was born and raised just 20 minutes south of Salford, is on this year’s big-name shortlist.

Fury finds himself on the list after his destruction of former WBC champion Deontay Wilder on February 22nd, where he reclaimed one of his titles following his dramatic return to boxing after an immense struggle in 2018.

Manchester United striker Marcus Rashford is set to receive a special award in honour of his unrelenting work campaigning and raising awareness for child food poverty in the UK.

The shortlist includes snooker ace Ronnie O’ Sullivan and Liverpool skipper Jordan Henderson.

But racing deriver Lewis Hamilton is currently the heavy favourite to win the award following a stellar year, equaling Michael Schumacher’s record of seven world F1 titles, winning his fourth consecutive championship in 2020. Hamilton also surpassed Schumacher’s total of 91 grand prix victories.

Jockey, Hollie Doyle at 24 is the only woman on the shortlist and the youngster entrant.

Doyle broke her own record for the number of winners ridden by a British woman in a year as well as riding a historic double on British Champions Day. She also became the first woman to ride five winners on the same card and claimed her first victory at Royal Ascot.

The awards will be broadcast live on December 20 on BBC One.

The last time Salford hosted the awards in 2011, British cyclist Mark Cavendish claimed the title, as the first British winner of the points classification in the Tour De France, and the first male British world road race champion in 46 years.

The runner up was one of the oldest golfers to win the Open Championship, Darren Clarke. The Northern Irish man achieved this feat at 42 years of age.

Third place was Mo Farah, who captured a gold and silver medal at the world championships for 5000m and 10,000m, respectively.

Follow the link for my breakdown of this years candidates:

This year’s full shortlist can be found below:



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *