Top industry guests and Quays News journalists attended the Journalism Awards 2018 when they were held at The National Football Museum on the 24th May.

The awards was presented by ITV Granada’s Ann O’Connor, with Tiffany Sweeney being the keynote speaker on the night, who works for the BBC. Tiffany gave a speech about how through determination and the willingness to succeed, young journalists can get to where they want to be and to never give up.

The night kicked off with Feature of the Year which was won by Phoebe Jobling for her feature ‘Wonderland Inspires with an opening night at the Palace Theatre.‘ The award was judged and presented by Helen Pidd who has been the North of England editor for the Guardian since 2012.

Phoebe also scooped up the award for Steve Panter News Journalist of the Year for her article ‘Top Gimsby dancer is purring with delight after being chosen for international tour.’ The award judged and presented by Steve Panter was given to Phoebe for ‘her revealing interview and vibrant page design’. Steve had worked at the Manchester Evening News for 25 years and is an award winning crime reporter and news editor.

The next award was Best First Year, which was judged by University of Salford Graduate Bradley Harris. Bradley now works at BBC Breakfast after graduating in 2016. Best First Year was awarded to Lars Magnus Igland Røys for his piece ‘Ryan Giggs responds to criticim as the Class of 92 meet their “first” stumbling block.’

Credit: Elspeth Moore

Radio Journalist of the Year was judged by University of Salford lecturer Caroline Cheetham, but it was presented by Vidar Hjardeng who is ITV’s diversity consultant across England, Wales and the Channel Islands. Priya Matharu took home this award for her ‘Little Miss Inventor‘ package.

Photojournalist of the Year was judged by University of Salford lecturer John Snowdon who started his career on regional newspapers before becoming Chief photographer for News Team International in Birmingham. David Clarke was honoured with this award for a ‘portfolio capturing the agony and ecstasy of a football match‘.

Best Second Year was judged and presented by Awo Tarabi from ITV Central in Birmingham. Julia Kirkwood won the award for ‘capturing a positive experience of a woman living with Dementia.’ Julia’s piece can be found here.

After the mains were served the awards got underway once more starting with Magazine of the Year, judged by David Lloyd and presented by University of Salford lecturer Robin Brown. David is the editor of Liverpool’s official tourism magazine ‘It’s Liverpool‘ and has previously been the editor for the Guardian and Trinity Mirror. Annie Korn-Morris won the award for her magazine ‘Lagom‘. David said: “This feels like an empowered, confident and life-affirming mag, and I could see it doing well.”

Next was Television Journalist of the Year, judged by keynote speaker Tiffany Sweeney who is also a University of Salford graduate. Lauren Smith walked away with this award for her package highlighting the global impact of work being done at the University of Salford.

Credit: Elspeth Moore

Director of Journalism Paul Broster then took to stage to thank those involved in the awards, Laura Prestbury, Debbie Manley and Bethan Holmes. Paul then announced the winner for Best Third Year, which went to Francesca Eagleton for her piece on the Rohingya Crisis: Manchester to Myanmar.

After dessert, it was time for the Gary Neville Sports Journalist of the Year. Gary and the Class of 92 have worked closely with the university and have been strong backers of the school of journalism. Gary was unable to make the night, but he confirmed the winner over video message. Lars Magnus Igland Røys was awarded his second award of the night for his ‘Salford City piece that had something for everyone.’

The awards then moved on to Online Journalist of the Year, judged by Nick Martin. Nick is the North of England correspondent for Sky News and recently accepted the Royal Television Society Award for breaking news for Sky’s coverage of the Manchester Terror Attack. Nick was unable to make the ceremony but delivered the winner by video message. Lars Magnus Igland Røys was again a recipient of another award, making it three times that night he was welcomed onto the stage. Lars Magnus won for his “fine piece of sports news reporting“.

The Postgraduates were then put out of their ‘misery’ according to Ann where Aasma Day judged and presented the award for Best Postgraduate. Aasma is a Lancashire Evening Post reporter, who is an investigative journalist who leads the nationwide Investigations Unit for Johnstone Press. Best Postgraduate was awarded to Ellen Milligan for “being equally at ease with movie stars and politicians”.

Finally, Richard Frediani was welcomed onto the stage to present the final two awards. Richard is Programme Editor for ITV National News and former head of news at Granada Reports, where he became the first regional head of news to win a BAFTA for best news coverage. Richard awarded Quays News Student of the Year to Joe Wilmot for his outstanding commitment to Quays since starting at the University of Salford in September.

Credit: Elspeth Moore

The final recognition of the night was the Eddie Lowey Award. This was awarded to Nikola Bartošová for raising the reputation of the trade of journalism over her time at the University of Salford.

Also nominated for awards were: Ruby Flanagan & Rebecca Mcgrath (Best Feature), Michael Rose & Lars Magnus Igland Røys (Steve Panter), Joe Wilmot & Tara Dalton (Best First Year), Wilf Reeve & Ellen Milligan & Alastair Hancock (Radio Journalist), Dhanna Estinozo & Paige Tucker (Photojournalist), Grace Mailey & Jack Merriman (Best Second Year), Alex Costello & Issac Beech (Best Magazine), Jennifer Smith & Nikola Bartošová (Television Journalist), Adam Eland & Jennifer Smith & Nikola Bartošová & Zarah Connolly (Best Third Year), Emma Butler & Michael Plant & Rich Stephenson (Gary Neville), Jwan Butimar & Harriet Wallace (Best Online), Emily Henderson & Wilf Reeve & Rich Stephenson (Best Postgraduate).

Take a trip down memory lane and have a look at last years winners here.

Thanks to Ioan Bustean (Technical team).


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *