MANCHESTER City remain 11 points clear in the table after a record-breaking 15th consecutive Premier League win.  

They dominated Swansea City at the Liberty Stadium last night, securing 3 points thanks to their 4-0 win, and are now sitting pretty at the top of the Premier League, ahead of rivals Manchester United.

Credit: PA Images

David Silva scored two goals in both halves, while Kevin De Bruyne and Sergio Aguro added two more, which was too much for bottom place Swansea who add another loss to their 11 this season and have 12 points and a -13 goal difference.

Credit: PA Images

City led to game from early on, creating chances from the fifth minute with Aguero hitting the side netting after a run down the right hand side, and a seventh minute save by Swansea’s Fabianski denied Fernandinho’s volley from entering the net.

David Silva opened the scoring in the 26th minute, giving him three goals in three games.

Then Kevin De Bruyne added a second, just 10 minutes after the first, giving the blues a comfortable lead before the end of the first half, Swansea did well not to crack under the pressure City were pushing on them early on, but City maintained a 77% possession rate before the end of the first half.

Swansea looked unlikely to make a comeback from 2-0 down, and just one minute into the second half an attempt by David Silva went wide, but just eight minutes later an undeterred Silva scored another.

With just five minutes to go Sergio Aguero made it a very comfortable 4-0 lead to the visitors and any hope Swansea had left at this point had vanished.

There are only three players in the Premier League this season who have more than five goals and assists, and they’re all City players: David Silva and Kevin De Bryune have five goals and eight assists while Leroy Sane has six goals and six assists.

The win means that Man City have broken the record for the most consecutive wins in a season, the title was previously held by Arsenal for 15 years when they had 14 consecutive wins in August 2002.



Fabianski, Naughton, van der Hoorn, Mawson, Olsson, Ki Sung-yueng, Mesa, Carroll (45’), J Ayew, Dyer(65’), Bony (74’) Subs: Fer(74’), Abraham(45’), Narsingh(65’), Clucas, Rangel, Mulder, Fernandez

Manchester City

Ederson, Danilo, Otamendi, Mangala, Delph(73’), De Bruyne(77’), Fernandinho(58’), Silva, Bernardo Silva, Agüero, Sterling Subs: Bravo, Walker, Gündogan(77’), Sané, Jesus, Zinchenko(73’), Y Touré(58’)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *